Skip to Primary Content
Alternative BannerMain Banner

Corporate Governance

Background

The Hong Kong Mortgage Corporation Limited (Corporation), established in March 1997, is wholly owned by the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Government through the Exchange Fund.

 

 

 

Missions

The missions of the Corporation are to promote:

  • stability of the banking sector
  • wider home ownership
  • development of the local debt market
  • development of retirement planning solutions.

 

Corporate Governance Practices

The Corporation operates on prudent commercial principles and is committed to ensuring a high standard of corporate governance to improve the overall accountability, transparency and long-term sustainability of its operations.  The Corporation’s corporate governance practices are set out in its “Corporate Governance Code” (Code) approved by the Board.  The Code is premised on the principles of fairness, transparency, accountability and responsibility to all stakeholders and has been issued to the shareholders, Directors and staff members.

 

Corporate Governance Code

Click to expand for viewing details

Shareholders

All the shares of the Corporation are beneficially owned by the Financial Secretary of Hong Kong as Controller of the Exchange Fund.

Click to expand for viewing details

The Board

The Board is responsible for leading the Corporation and promoting its success in an accountable and effective manner.  To provide strategic leadership and effective control of the Corporation, the Board meets in person at least four times a year to oversee the Corporation’s business strategy and policies, budgeting and planning, organisational and financial performance, risk management, human resources as well as community relations. 

 

Board of Directors

 

Directors are requested to declare their or their respective connected entities’ material interests in any matter to be considered by the Board.  If a Director or any of his or her connected entities has a conflict of interests in a matter to be considered by the Board, such Director will abstain from, and not be counted in the quorum in respect of, voting on such matter at the Board meeting.

 

The Corporation maintains a directors’ and officers’ liability insurance policy for its Directors and officers against legal proceedings and other claims arising in the course of discharge of their duties in respect of the Corporation.

Click to expand for viewing details

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer

The roles of Chairman and Chief Executive Officer are separate and not performed by the same individual, which ensures a clear division of responsibilities between the Board and the executive functions of the Corporation’s Management.  The Board is responsible for laying down strategic direction and business guidelines, approving financial objectives and closely monitoring the Corporation’s performance on an ongoing basis.  The Chief Executive Officer, who is accountable to the Board, is responsible for leading Management in implementing the Board’s decisions in a proper and efficient manner.  The Chief Executive Officer also ensures that adequate information relating to the Corporation’s business is reported to the Board on a regular basis.

Click to expand for viewing details

Company Secretary

The Company Secretary is accountable to the Board and her main duty is to ensure that all company secretarial procedures are followed by the Corporation and the Board.  In addition, the Company Secretary ensures that Board Papers are provided to Directors in a timely manner prior to each Board meeting.  Directors have access to the advice and services of the Company Secretary with a view to ensuring that applicable laws, rules and regulations are complied with in respect of Board proceedings.

Click to expand for viewing details

Audit Committee

The Audit Committee is responsible for reviewing the Corporation’s financial statements, the composition and accounting principles adopted in such statements, the results of the financial audits, and the Corporation’s management procedures to ensure the adequacy and effectiveness of its internal controls systems.

 

Terms of Reference of the Audit Committee

Click to expand for viewing details

Internal Auditor

The Internal Audit Department operates independently of Management and plays a major role in assessing the internal controls systems of the Corporation.  The Internal Audit Department is led by the Chief Internal Auditor who reports directly to the Chairman of the Audit Committee on all matters relating to the Corporation’s internal controls.  The Chief Internal Auditor also reports to the Chief Executive Officer on day-to-day administrative matters of the Internal Audit Department, and has authority to communicate directly with the Chairman of the Audit Committee without reference to Management.

Click to expand for viewing details

External Auditor

The external auditor is allowed to communicate freely with the Chief Internal Auditor and the Audit Committee.  The auditor would issue a letter to the Audit Committee on an annual basis to confirm its independence with respect to the Corporation.

Click to expand for viewing details

Financial Reporting

The Corporation aims to present a clear, balanced and comprehensible assessment of its performance, financial position and prospects to its stakeholders and the general public.  Directors are responsible for the preparation of the financial statements, and there is a statement by the auditor regarding its reporting responsibilities in the Independent Auditor’s Report on such financial statements.  Directors are to ensure that financial statements are prepared so as to give a true and fair view of the financial status of the Corporation.  The annual and interim results of the Corporation are announced in a timely manner after the end of each relevant period.

Click to expand for viewing details

Internal Controls

The Board has the overall responsibility for the Corporation’s internal controls systems and, through the Audit Committee, conducts periodic reviews on the effectiveness and efficiency of the systems.

 

Various committees have been established to ensure the efficient operation and prudent risk management of the Corporation.  These include the Corporate Risk Management Committee which is chaired by an Executive Director to oversee the risks of the Corporation from an enterprise-wide perspective, and the Operational Risk Committee, the Credit Committee, the Transaction Approval Committee and the Asset and Liability Committee, which are management committees chaired by the Chief Executive Officer.  Each of these committees has clear and well-defined terms of reference.

Click to expand for viewing details

Compliance Reporting

The Compliance Function is part of the Legal Office and is established for better management of regulatory and compliance risks.

 

The Compliance Function is led by the Chief Compliance Officer who reports to the Chief Executive Officer through the General Counsel.  In accordance with the Compliance Policy and the Compliance Manual of the Corporation, the Compliance Function monitors and advises departments of the Corporation on their compliance practices with a focus on conflict of interests, anti-corruption, anti-discrimination, competition, and privacy and personal data protection matters.  To provide transactional support, the Compliance Function reviews and participates in the sign-off of key transactions.  It also organises training to strengthen staff knowledge on compliance matters.  To enhance staff knowledge on compliance matters, each staff member is required to pass an annual compliance test organised by the Compliance Function.

Click to expand for viewing details

Code of Conduct

The Corporation requires the highest standards of integrity and conduct from its staff members.  The requirements and the relevant legal obligations are clearly set out in the Corporation’s Code of Conduct (Code of Conduct) which forms part of the Staff Handbook.  The Code of Conduct sets out, in particular, provisions in regard to potential conflict of interests that may arise between the personal interests of staff members and the interests of the Corporation, and other provisions designed to ensure that staff carry out their job duties properly, ethically, impartially and free from any suggestion of improper influence.  Staff members are required to give written confirmation of their compliance with the Code of Conduct on an annual basis.

Click to expand for viewing details

Communication

The Corporation attaches great importance to communication with the public.  The Annual Report of the Corporation contains comprehensive information on its business strategies and developments.  The Corporation’s website (www.hkmc.com.hk) offers timely access to the Corporation’s press releases and its business information.  The Corporation also maintains a telephone hotline to service enquiries from the public.

Click to expand for viewing details

Corporate Social Responsibility

As a socially responsible organisation, the Corporation cares for both its staff and the community, and is committed to fulfilling its corporate social responsibility by caring for its staff’s wellbeing, participating in charity activities and implementing environmental protection measures.

Click to expand for viewing details

Conclusion

The Corporation will continue to review its corporate governance framework and improve those practices as appropriate in the light of ongoing experience, regulatory changes, international trends and developments in order to enhance the Corporation’s efficiency and effective management in pursuit of its missions.

跳至主要內容
替代橫幅主要橫幅

企業管治

公司背景

香港按揭證券有限公司(本公司)於1997年3月成立,由香港特別行政區政府通過外匯基金全資擁有。

 

 

 

使命

本公司的使命是促進:

  • 銀行業界穩定
  • 市民置業安居
  • 本地債券市場發展
  • 退休規劃選擇發展。

企業管治常規

本公司根據審慎商業原則運作,並致力確保高水平的企業管治,務求提升整體問責性、透明度及長遠的持續營運能力。本公司所採納的企業管治常規,載於董事局所通過的「企業管治守則」(「守則」)內。守則以公平、透明、問責及向所有持份者負責的原則為前提。守則已向股東、董事及員工派發。

 

企業管治守則

點擊查看詳細信息

股東

本公司的所有股份均由香港財政司司長以外匯基金管理人身份實益擁有。

點擊查看詳細信息

董事局

董事局負責領導本公司,並以有效及負責任方式推動公司爭取佳績。為對本公司作出策略性領導及實施有效監控,董事局每年最少會面四次,以檢視本公司的業務策略與政策、預算與規劃、組織與財務表現、風險管理、人力資源及社區關係。


董事局

 

董事須就董事局會議即將審議的任何事項,申報其本人或其關連實體的重大利害關係。倘若有董事或其關連實體在董事局會議即將審議的事項中有利益衝突,則該名董事須在董事局會議表決該事項時放棄投票,而其出席也不會計算在該事項投票時的法定人數內。

 

對於董事及管理人員為本公司履行職務時可能引起的法律訴訟及其他索償,本公司備有保險安排。

 

點擊查看詳細信息

主席與總裁

主席與總裁職位分別由兩位人士擔任,以此明確區分董事局職責與本公司管理層的行政職責。董事局負責制定策略性方向及業務指引,批核財務目標及持續密切監察本公司的表現。總裁向董事局負責,肩負帶領管理層以適當有效方式執行董事局決策的重任。總裁亦會確保定期向董事局呈報有關本公司業務的充足資料。

點擊查看詳細信息

公司秘書

公司秘書向董事局負責,其主要職責是確保本公司及董事局遵循所有公司秘書程序。此外,公司秘書須確保會議文件於每次董事局會議召開前,及時發放予董事。董事亦可向公司秘書徵詢意見及有關服務,以確保董事局程序符合有關法律、規則和法規。

點擊查看詳細信息

審計委員會

審計委員會負責審閱本公司的財務報表、該等報表的編製及所採納的會計準則、財務審計結果及本公司的管理程序,以確保其內部監控制度充足有效。

 

審計委員會的職權範圍

點擊查看詳細信息

內部審核師

內部審核部獨立於管理層運作,在評核本公司的內部監控制度上擔當重要角色。總內部審核師領導內部審核部,直接向審計委員會主席匯報與本公司內部監控有關的一切事宜,亦同時向總裁匯報內部審核部的日常行政事宜。總內部審核師可以毋須知會管理層,與審計委員會主席直接溝通。

點擊查看詳細信息

外聘核數師

外聘核數師可隨時與總內部審核師及審計委員會溝通。外聘核數師會每年致函審計委員會,確認其身份獨立於本公司。

點擊查看詳細信息

財務匯報

本公司致力向持份者與公眾人士,就業績表現、財務狀況和前景提供清晰、持平及全面的評估。董事負責編製財務報表,核數師就其匯報責任於該等財務報表的獨立核數師報告中作出聲明。董事要確保所編製的財務報表真實及公平地反映本公司的財政狀況。本公司的全年及中期業績會在相關時期結束後及時公布。

點擊查看詳細信息

內部監控

董事局對本公司的內部監控制度承擔整體責任,並透過審計委員會對該等制度的成效和效率定期進行檢討。

 

透過成立多個不同委員會,以確保本公司有營運效率及審慎風險管理。當中包括企業風險管理委員會,由一位執行董事擔任主席,負責從企業整體角度監督本公司的風險,而營運風險管理委員會、信貸委員會、交易核准委員會及資產負債管理委員會皆是管理層委員會,均由總裁擔任主席。每個委員會都有清晰明確的職權範圍。

點擊查看詳細信息

合規匯報

合規專組是法律顧問部的一部份,其設立是為了更有效管理監管及合規風險。

 

合規專組由合規總監領導,並通過首席法律顧問向總裁匯報。根據本公司的合規政策和合規手冊,合規專組主要就利益衝突、反貪污、反歧視、競爭法及私隱和個人資料保護方面,對本公司各部門的合規操作進行監控並提供意見。為支援交易,合規專組負責對主要交易進行審查和簽字批核。合規專組亦舉辦培訓提高員工的合規知識。為加強員工的合規知識,每位員工必須通過合規專組安排的年度合規測驗。

點擊查看詳細信息

行為守則

本公司要求員工遵守最高的誠信和行為標準。該等要求與相關法律責任明確載於本公司員工手冊內的行為守則(「行為守則」)。行為守則有條文特別規範員工個人利益與公司利益之間可能產生的潛在利益衝突。行為守則亦載有其他條文,以確保員工妥善地、符合道德地、公正無私地,在沒有受到任何不正當影響下執行其職務。員工每年均須書面確認其已經遵守行為守則。

點擊查看詳細信息

溝通交流

本公司非常重視與公眾的溝通交流。本公司的年報刊載了本公司的業務策略及發展詳情。本公司的網站 (www.hkmc.com.hk) 適時登載本公司的新聞稿與其業務資訊。本公司亦設有熱線電話,供公眾人士查詢使用。

點擊查看詳細信息

企業社會責任

作為一間對社會負責的機構,本公司對其員工及社會均十分關懷,並一直致力透過關顧其員工福利、參與慈善活動及實施環境保護措施等方式履行其企業社會責任。

點擊查看詳細信息

結語

本公司將按不斷的實踐經驗、監管制度變化、國際市場動向與發展,繼續檢討企業管治架構並恰當地優化該等操作,務求提升公司的效率和有效管理以達成其使命。